Instagram grows at a rate much higher than other social networks and, in the last five months has added 100 million new users. So much so that the social app of photographs – and much more – already has more than 1,000 million active users per month.
“Removing the Instagram profile is not the same as turning it off.”
Although it is attracting the attention of more and more people, it is possible that some people have already tired of being in it and wish to eliminate their account, for whatever reasons. This is not a very easy task or, at least, the company tries to hinder its realization. For those who want to know how to remove their Instagram account, here is this little tutorial.
The first thing to keep in mind is that Instagram allows – and thus will try to make the user do it – disable the account before deleting it. This will leave it in a kind of “limbo”, available for when the user wants to reactivate it. They will keep their “likes”, their comments, all their photographs and videos… that will not be deleted.
If we want to eliminate it completely, we will have to go to the Instagram web version, since it is not possible to do it from the app. This is somewhat controversial, since the company does allow you to register from the mobile phone, so the logical thing would be to allow the user to unsubscribe from the same device from which he signed up, but this is not the case.
Accepted this, because there is no other remedy, you must go to the web version of Instagram from a computer to carry out the elimination of the account.
Once there, all you have to do is click on the account configuration menu, which is identified by a gear / nut icon and press “Delete the account”. A drop-down menu with different options will appear, asking “Why do you want to delete your account?”
If an option is not selected, the button to delete the account will not appear, so it is convenient to choose the one or a random one. Once this is done, the button will appear that will allow you to delete the account completely.
When you click on it, your profile, your photos, your videos, your comments, your “likes” and your followers will be permanently deleted.
Once you have deleted the account, you will not be able to re-register with the same username or add it to another account. You can not reactivate deleted accounts.