Advertisements

Flickr Delays the Deletion of Photos until March, 12th

As we have been saying in recent weeks, Flickr will completely change its usage rules. Until now, the company offered all users 1TB of storage for their photographs for free.

Advertisements

As we have been saying in recent weeks, Flickr will completely change its usage rules. Until now, the company offered all users 1TB of storage for their photographs for free. It is something that launched in 2013 and had been very well received, but that “plan” is no longer available to those who do not pay a monthly fee.

“Flickr experienced problems downloading user images and that’s why the company decided to delay the deletion of images.”

Those who have a free subscription can only save 1,000 photos on Flickr. The rest will be deleted by the company, starting with the oldest ones. This deletion was going to take place last Wednesday, but Flickr has decided to give more time to the users so that they can download all their images (here we explained how to do it) and has delayed the beginning of the deletion until next March 12.

Why is the deletion date postponed?

Mainly because Flickr experienced certain last minute problems that prevented some users from downloading their photographs. According to the company itself, “the complications experienced by some users” are the reason why they have decided to “extend the deadline for deletion” until next March 12, 2019.

This means that Flickr users now have a little more than a month to download their photos. Anyway, we advise not to wait for the last minute to do it since, as we saw this week, “last minute” problems may arise, possibly due to saturation of the servers due to the increase in requests from users.

Flickr has taken this strategic decision to eliminate free 1TB storage after it was acquired by SmugMug in April 2018. It was previously owned by Oath, a company resulting from the purchase of Yahoo! by Verizon.

Advertisements