In the end, the promise came true. After it became known that Mark Zuckerberg enjoyed “private” functionality, only for managers, which allowed him to erase messages from Facebook Messenger after sending them, the company promised that any user could do so.
“Facebook Messenger has been testing functionality in four countries since November.”
However, that happened months ago – in April 2018 – and the promise had not been heard again … until now. Facebook has just announced that the possibility of deleting messages now reaches all users: you can eliminate that which you should not say in the inappropriate group, or that message that was not well written!
Facebook Messenger allows the user to delete any message during the 10 minutes after sending it. To do so, you only have to click on the message itself and a message that says “Delete for all” will appear. Until now there was the erase button but now two options are shown, “erase for all” and “erase for you”.
When you click on the first one, the text will disappear from the recipient’s screen as if by magic, even if you read it. Of course, you can only do this action up to 10 minutes after having given “send”.
As it happens in other services, like WhatsApp, the receiving user will be shown a text that warns him that the message has been deleted. Facebook Messenger had been testing this new button “Unsend” with some users since last November, but until today the functionality has not been officially released.