Advertisements

YouTube will Prohibit Sharing Content Automatically on Twitter as of January 31st

YouTube introduced some time ago the possibility of automatically sharing the activity in the video portal on social networks like Twitter or Google+.

Advertisements
Share Give it a Spin!
RSS
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
YOUTUBE
PINTEREST
LINKEDIN
INSTAGRAM

YouTube introduced some time ago the possibility of automatically sharing the activity in the video portal on social networks like Twitter or Google+. The tweets, generated automatically, were of the style “I liked this video on YouTube”, and in the vast majority of cases it was not too interesting information.

“YouTube public activity information (such as likes in videos) can not be automatically shared on Twitter as of January 31st.”

That is why YouTube have decided to withdraw this option, both on Twitter and Google+, although the latter is not a major change, especially taking into account that has the days numbered. From YouTube they have argued that this type of publications have more weight when they are accompanied by a personalized message, something impossible in automatically generated content.

They do not lack reason, since this type of tweets can be seen as spam, and many users may have activated this option without knowing it.

The option will no longer be available as of January 31. Even so, video creators will be able to notify their followers on Twitter when they upload new content but they will have to do it manually, by clicking on the share video function through the YouTube share button, which will continue to be present.

The option that allowed this to be automatic is currently in the YouTube configuration, in the section “Connected applications”. Here you can activate the option “Share public activity on Twitter.” On January 31 this last section will disappear, making it impossible to continue publishing the public activity.

YouTube expects its users to share their activity in a personalized way, with mentions and own messages, which they consider a better alternative to automatic messages. It is likely that no user will miss this option, so it makes little sense that it continues to exist.

Advertisements
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: